Rumi, Adventures, and Getting Ready for a New Year

1 Dec

Come, come whoever you are, wanderer, worshipper, lover of leaving,

it doesn’t matter.  Ours is not a caravan of despair.

Come, even if you have broken your vow a thousand times.

Come, come yet again, come.

-Rumi

This poem is resonating hard with me right now.  Having just made a 1,400 mile move, accepted a job in a state I’ve never visited, and worked on coming to terms with some of the poorer decisions in my life (even as I celebrate the wise ones), my life is feeling both full and in flux.

Yet, I feel damn good.  I am learning more about myself every day, and now I am fortunate to be in the position to strengthen relationships with the family members I love and see too rarely.  Things are going well.  I landed one of my dream jobs, and I get paid for writing about bands, too(!).

As some of my friends would say, it’s pretttttty good!  But I know I’ll have to keep challenging myself.  I want to have even more adventures in 2012.  Not because I believe it will be my last year on Earth, but because growth is important to me.  My New Year’s Resolutions include reading (and writing) more poetry, studying more philosophy, and leaving the country.  I certainly hope to stay connected and see the friends I’ve left behind in Boston… I miss them already.

Whether I caulk the wagon and float it, au pair abroad, or fulfill my dream of taking a cruise with someone sexy:

Ours will be no caravan of despair.

3 Responses to “Rumi, Adventures, and Getting Ready for a New Year”

  1. thoroughly modern milli vanilli December 2, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    Sam,

    Great post! Was that an Oregon Trail reference?
    Also, I want to thank you (publicly) for always encouraging my own quest to be more reflective/introspective.

    You have such great adventures ahead of you, and I can’t wait to share them with you!

    Love,

    Dani

  2. thelondonflowerlover December 5, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    we love this

  3. shendles December 5, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    ditto prev comments, and also: OMG JOB!!!!!!!!!! you so deserve it. 😉 xoxo

Leave a Reply

