Cold MOvember rain?

30 Nov

As Movember comes to an end, I just want to take a minute to thank all the men who grew some awesomely badass facial hair to raise awareness about/funds for men’s health issues.  For one thing, I just dig hairy dudes.

Also, cancer just sucks.  Plain and simple.  Prostate cancer (the main focus of Movember efforts) will kill almost 35,000 men in the U.S. this year.  All types of cancer will kill almost 600,000 (men and women).  To call cancer devastating would be an understatement.

But that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t talk about it.  [Admittedly, I do have some issues with “awareness campaigns”–are they really that effective, or do they just distract us from real activism?  Will posting your bra color  in your Facebook status really do anything to help “Save the Tatas”? I doubt it.  Will staches “save the prostate”? No. ]  So, yea, we’re not going to cure cancer by laughing at it, or sporting hipster mustaches.  But I do think that there is some medicinal value in laughter, both for those engaged in a “battle of wills with a murderous tumor” and those suffering with them.  And, while the funds raised by Fu Manchus pale in comparison to the millions more needed, at least it’s something.

So once again, thanks for reminding us that the face of cancer can take many different forms, hirstute or not.  I think I’m gonna miss seeing sweet facial hair every day.  I may just have to take a trip to Allston for a fix…

Sidenote: I’d be all over not shaving my legs for a month, for a good cause.  If you want to make a pledge, let me know.

2 Responses to “Cold MOvember rain?”

  1. thoroughly modern milli vanilli December 1, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    I will miss those moustaches, for real.

    Nice article, D! Reminds me of last year’s “Think About Pink” piece by Peggy Orenstein: http://nyti.ms/sJ2gRQ

    -Sam

Leave a Reply

